Carter Subaru Ballard Customer Reviews

ReviewsLocalDealerRaterEdmunds.comFacebookGoogle
5201 Leary Ave NW Seattle WA 98017
428 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us

  • Fri Jan 4 2019
    Look what we have for you! a fineoffer Are you in? https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HXduMjyG0wjISEaAuvcGLr-tcqF0IWC0/preview
  • Tue Aug 21 2018
    I picked up a new Subaru Outback from Steven Mackie at Carter Subaru about ten days ago and couldn’t be happier. The Outback rides and handles nicely and is a pleasure to drive (and park).Steven is always available and willing to answer questions and address concerns. He made buying a new car easy. This is my sixth new car purchase since 2000 and by far the best experience. Thank you Steven and Carter Subaru.
  • Tue Aug 21 2018
    No Comment
  • Fri Aug 17 2018
    No Comment
  • Wed Aug 15 2018
    We just purchased a car from Archie Witherell and couldn't be happier! Purchasing a car can be stressful but not at Carter! They make it way more fun to spend money on a new car!!
  • Sat Aug 11 2018
    TLDR: Unable to fix brakes and charged a large amount for dubious work. I brought my car in because the brakes were squeaking. I paid about $350 to replace the rear brake pads. I was told the front pads were fine. On the way back home my brakes were already squeaking again. They asked me to come back in. By that point my left headlight was out so I asked them to replace it. I got a call around noon saying it wasn't the headlight but the headlight assembly. They fixed it for about $660. They were supposed to fix the brakes too. On the way back my brakes squeaked just as much as before. They have plausible deniability for the headlight but I can't help but feel like I got ripped off. They definitely didn't verify their brake work. I won't be back and I don't recommend.
  • Thu Aug 9 2018
    Happy with my service. Came in for some warranty work, and was offered a loaner hassle-free.
  • Fri Aug 3 2018
    No Comment
  • Wed Aug 1 2018
    Been to many shops for test drive and I can say Will Kopatich from Subaru Ballard was the most kind, helpful and respectful car salesperson I met in Seattle/Lynnwood/Bellevue area. He was a huge factor why we I ended up buying a Crosstrek (with all the options) from these guys and I'm more than happy I bought the car through Will. We had to wait for about 3 hours in the queue as they only had 1 finance guy handling all the sales on Saturday. I'd encourage you to go during the weekdays if you're going to buy a car. I haven't experienced the service centre yet so I'll come back to comment on it once I get my car serviced.
  • Sat Jul 28 2018
    We are first-time Subaru owners and recently bought a new Outback from Archie Witherell at Carter Ballard. Great experience all around! Archie was great to work with - found the exact car we were looking for, low pressure, great at explaining all the features of each model, even explained how Subaru all wheel drive systems are built that allows them to be so good in the snow. Was also impressed with the buying process and their business department. Will definitely be back and highly recommend this dealership to others.
50 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Local Reviews

  • BrianCic
    Fri Jan 4 2019
    Look what we have for you! a fineoffer Are you in? https://drive.google.com/file/d/1HXduMjyG0wjISEaAuvcGLr-tcqF0IWC0/preview
  • Susan H
    Tue Aug 21 2018
    I picked up a new Subaru Outback from Steven Mackie at Carter Subaru about ten days ago and couldn’t be happier. The Outback rides and handles nicely and is a pleasure to drive (and park).Steven is always available and willing to answer questions and address concerns. He made buying a new car easy. This is my sixth new car purchase since 2000 and by far the best experience. Thank you Steven and Carter Subaru.
  • Linda Peterson
    Wed Aug 15 2018
    We just purchased a car from Archie Witherell and couldn't be happier! Purchasing a car can be stressful but not at Carter! They make it way more fun to spend money on a new car!!
  • Brian
    Thu May 3 2018
    went in to look at a used car salesman and I went for a ride he was very friendly and understood my concern about the miles on the car and the fact that they was asking well over fair market value. After the test drive I made a cash offer on the vehicle and was rejected so the next day I made yet another cash offer this time offering above fair market. Then was told the manger would not budge from the asking price! Where is the costume service and to make sure no one thinks I was low balling my last offer was only $900.00 less than the asking price!
  • Maria
    Fri Mar 30 2018
    Very friendly and low key sales experience.
  • Esme Orr
    Tue May 30 2017
    No Comment
  • Rebecca
    Tue Jun 14 2016
    Jeff Rodriguez at Cater Subaru in Ballard was very helpful and made the experience of buying a new car a fun one. I was afraid of feeling pressured to buy and did not feel that way at all while working with him. He also took the time to explain the features of the car, which I found very helpful.
  • Bruce
    Wed Apr 13 2016
    I have bought 3 cars from Ballard Carter Subaru over the last 10 years, and each was a good experience. I had a bad transmission in one car under warrantee, which was fixed and later replaced. Our salesman each time has been Victor Nebre, who wasn't pushy, gave us a good deal which was fair, made sure we were satisfied and continued with good service even after the sale. Not sure what more you can ask for really from a car dealer. Thanks VIctor!
  • Elliott
    Wed Mar 23 2016
    Really enjoyed working with Victor in Ballard. He gave us a wonderful test drive and let the car speak for itself. Additionally we were able to move relatively quickly when we decided to pull the trigger. Great no pressure service, and I had a great time.
  • Spencer Lane
    Mon Mar 21 2016
    Tony and Sarah in the internet sales team are both amazing. I inquired about a car online, and received an email within 15 minutes from Tony. The car I wanted wasn't available immediately, so they worked with me and the repair schedule to make sure I was the first person to view and test drive the car. They were very helpful and answered all of the questions I had. They were even able to get me a second set of keys/remote and a set of all weather floor mats. Definitely a great experience!
2 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on DealerRater

  • Cody Ybarra
    Tue Apr 17 2018
    Lists online prices as 4-5000 below what they really want. Price will change before you arrive to buy. Lies about price to generate interest.
  • Todd and Alice
    Mon Nov 27 2017
    My husband Todd and I saw an Outback on the Carter Subaru Ballard website that we were interested in. We drove to Ballard, and the sales person that helped us, Lauren, looked at the inventory and told us "yes the car is available." We walked a short distance to the lot to look at and test drive the car. As we got to the lot, "the keys weren't where they normally were kept" So the sales person called the office and she then went to retrieve the keys. We chose to stay at the lot as the office was only a short distance away. Soon it began to rain, thankfully there was a little cover from a tree on the lot. After some time, Lauren called to suggest we walk back to the showroom and wait at her desk for her as she continued to try and locate the keys. She then met us back at her desk to inform us that the keys were not available because the car had not yet been inspected and therefore, not available to test drive or purchase. When asked how long it will be until the car is inspected, she replied "I don't know, could be a day, or a week" After some questioning to some of her other coworkers, it was suggested we call back the next day, she also said she would contact us as soon as the car was inspected and available. We feel that the salesperson should have known that the car was not yet inspected and not yet available for a test drive. We saw a similar car at another Subaru location (same year, similar miles , same options) A quick phone call to the other dealer the next morning, and we agreed on a price. When we spoke with Lauren that morning , now the original car was inspected and available, I made an offer equal to what the other dealer offered, she said she was only able to lower their price a "few hundred dollars" ($200.00). We went to the other dealer to buy the car from them as Ballard was not willing to negotiate any further. Also parking at the Ballard location was very difficult. I have purchased a previous car at Carter Volkswagen and was happy with that experience. However we were a bit disappointed with our experience at Ballard Subaru,
7 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Edmunds.com

  • beenthere8
    Sat Oct 26 2013
    I've seen it happen before, but never to me until now. Lube tech drove my wife's 2013 Golf out off the shop rack and into the driveway, without filling it with oil, probably about 30 seconds. Even worse was the service advisr's [non-permissible content removed] attitude about it. Avoid this sorry rundown disaster of a service dept with everything you have. I've worked in the automotive repair industry world wide all my life and I have never seen an armpit of a place like this. This grotty dump is the appendix of the automotive world. I had to shower when I got home.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • freds7
    Wed Nov 3 2010
    Went for service there a couple times. Not impressed, took my business elsewhere. Now months later I just got a long robocall message from them trying to sell me something. If you decide to do business with them DO NOT give them your phone number.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • tkummelman
    Mon Oct 4 2010
    I recently had the pleasure of purchasing a 2009 Subaru Legacy from Carter Subaru. Simple negotiations, easy to work with and great people made this my most pleasurable experience purchasing a car, EVER. James Bennett, my salesman was very knowledgeable, polite and great while watching my son while we completed our paperwork. Everyone we met at Carter Subaru including James Bennett, Ward Fleischmann (Sales Manager) and Dan Murphy (Sales Manager) did their very best to make this buying experience smooth and easy and I can promise you this, we will be back! Read more
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • tkummelman
    Mon Oct 4 2010
    I recently had the pleasure of purchasing a 2009 Subaru Legacy from Carter Subaru. Simple negotiations, easy to work with and great people made this my most pleasurable experience purchasing a car, EVER. James Bennett, my salesman was very knowledgeable, polite and great while watching my son while we completed our paperwork. Everyone we met at Carter Subaru including James Bennett, Ward Fleischmann (Sales Manager) and Dan Murphy (Sales Manager) did their very best to make this buying experience smooth and easy and I can promise you this, we will be back!
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • auntydiluvian
    Mon Sep 13 2010
    This was my first new car purchase but I went to many dealers while looking for a vehicle. My salesperson was pleasant, attentive, and straightforward, I loved the car I test drove but he discussed competitors strengths and weaknesses fairly and honestly. I got a decent price and a good loan with minimal hassle. Some of the business staff I dealt with seemed a little more true to the shifty-car-salesdude stereotype, I ignored their tactics but it lent an unfortunate air of grease to an otherwise great buying experience. Read more
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • auntydiluvian
    Mon Sep 13 2010
    This was my first new car purchase but I went to many dealers while looking for a vehicle. My salesperson was pleasant, attentive, and straightforward, I loved the car I test drove but he discussed competitors strengths and weaknesses fairly and honestly. I got a decent price and a good loan with minimal hassle. Some of the business staff I dealt with seemed a little more true to the shifty-car-salesdude stereotype, I ignored their tactics but it lent an unfortunate air of grease to an otherwise great buying experience.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • saabdudenw
    Sat May 2 2009
    I usually take my car to the other Carter in shoreline, but the last couple of times they were kinda rude, and that's not ok with me. So when my WRX needed a major service, I called the Carter in ballard, and their quote was about 15% less than their shoreline store..sold..I gave them a call to set up the appointment and they were really friendly..I dropped off my car as scheduled, and took the shuttle van(they have loaners, but I don't work too far from there) when I picked up my car that afternoon, the bill was 10% lower than they had quoted, and came with a free car wash ticket!! I will always go to Carter in ballard..thanks John and the rest of your staff
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com Visitor Vehicle Ratings and Reviews are the property of Edmunds.com, and may not be reproduced or distributed without the consent of Edmunds.com. Edmunds® is a trademark of Edmunds.com, Inc. Edmunds.com, Inc. is not affiliated with this website or app.
48 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Facebook

  • Barbara O'Keeffe
    Sat Jul 28 2018
    Are 2004 Forester clutch went out Wednesday evening in downtown Seattle. Thursday, Caitlin Cline at Carter Subaru made sure they had someone to look at our car, gave us a loaner and we picked up our car on Saturday with clutch replaced. She was WONDERFUL which helped to calm the nerves of out-of-town retirees. Highly, highly recommend this dealership. If we lived in the area they would get our business on a routine basis.
  • Tom McKenna
    Tue Jul 17 2018
    Carter sales promised to meet any local price. I flew down for appointment based on an average low price in area with sales manager approval to sell to me as an Alaska resident (no local cars available). Suddenly manager says no can do in contrast to email confirming all was clear. Competitors in area offering better prices with much more Alaska-friendly approach. I wanted to do business, ready to buy today at fair price! Would love to update with a happier ending.
  • Melissa Eskridge
    Mon May 21 2018
    After my old car broke down, I decided to try out some of the new cars at several different dealerships. Of course I had to try a Subaru! Michael Weiner was the sales associate that helped me through the buying process, and he was by far the best that I met at any dealership that I went to. He was enthusiastic, patient, and very knowledgeable. It took me a while to decide on which make/model I wanted, and he worked with me for almost a month to pick out the car that was right for me. Additionally, he made sure that I got the best deal and didn't try to rush or push me through the process. I love my new Forester, and I will definitely only be taking my car here for anything that I need.
  • Tim Janowski
    Thu Apr 19 2018
    I live a few blocks away and am quite annoyed that every time I look out my apartment window at night I see your Subaru dealership sign blinking non-stop. It's been defective for months now. Ridiculous! I came into your dealership today to understand why a responsible business has not fixed this sign and got a subpar response from your staff. About 150k people in the USA become epileptic each year. I sincerely hope you don't cause any unnecessary seizures. Can you please explain why you've decided to not fix this issue? By the way, I tried emailing the general manager directly, but was given the wrong email address from the staff. Thankfully, I found your facebook page.
  • Evan Happel
    Thu Mar 8 2018
    Bought a used car from Carter Subaru last night. Great experience!
  • Kasha Rae
    Tue Feb 13 2018
    I was given the run-around from a different dealership and went to Ballard Subaru in hopes they had a solution to my issue. The lady that helped me definitely had the resolution. Hands down the best customer service in Washington. � I will be returning for future service appointments. Thank you!
  • Tori Talley
    Sun Nov 26 2017
    We bought a used Subi in Seattle planning to drive it up to Alaska, but the check engine light came on! They gave us amazing customer service and fixed it and when we had to come back two more times for the same code they continued to treat us so kindly and we made it to Alaska! They even cheered us on as we drove off the lot. Best car experience ever, forever thankful to Nick Bailey and the rest of the service department!
  • Hayley Hanna
    Fri Nov 10 2017
    No Comment
  • Kat Shaffer
    Thu Oct 5 2017
    The fine folks at Carter Subaru Ballard are top-notch - kind, knowledgeable, and friendly. Jeff and Jonathon turned the laborious process of buying our first car into an easy-breezy, stress-free event. We are stoked to have the car of our dreams!
  • Rachael Lindsay
    Mon May 22 2017
    No Comment
321 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Google Places

  • Grigoriy Shmigol
    Tue Aug 21 2018
    No Comment
  • Mike Morelli
    Fri Aug 17 2018
    No Comment
  • Ryan Dorn
    Sat Aug 11 2018
    TLDR: Unable to fix brakes and charged a large amount for dubious work. I brought my car in because the brakes were squeaking. I paid about $350 to replace the rear brake pads. I was told the front pads were fine. On the way back home my brakes were already squeaking again. They asked me to come back in. By that point my left headlight was out so I asked them to replace it. I got a call around noon saying it wasn't the headlight but the headlight assembly. They fixed it for about $660. They were supposed to fix the brakes too. On the way back my brakes squeaked just as much as before. They have plausible deniability for the headlight but I can't help but feel like I got ripped off. They definitely didn't verify their brake work. I won't be back and I don't recommend.
  • Will Buchanan
    Thu Aug 9 2018
    Happy with my service. Came in for some warranty work, and was offered a loaner hassle-free.
  • keegan zanzi
    Fri Aug 3 2018
    No Comment
  • Jason Park
    Wed Aug 1 2018
    Been to many shops for test drive and I can say Will Kopatich from Subaru Ballard was the most kind, helpful and respectful car salesperson I met in Seattle/Lynnwood/Bellevue area. He was a huge factor why we I ended up buying a Crosstrek (with all the options) from these guys and I'm more than happy I bought the car through Will. We had to wait for about 3 hours in the queue as they only had 1 finance guy handling all the sales on Saturday. I'd encourage you to go during the weekdays if you're going to buy a car. I haven't experienced the service centre yet so I'll come back to comment on it once I get my car serviced.
  • Steve Bodensteiner
    Sat Jul 28 2018
    We are first-time Subaru owners and recently bought a new Outback from Archie Witherell at Carter Ballard. Great experience all around! Archie was great to work with - found the exact car we were looking for, low pressure, great at explaining all the features of each model, even explained how Subaru all wheel drive systems are built that allows them to be so good in the snow. Was also impressed with the buying process and their business department. Will definitely be back and highly recommend this dealership to others.
  • Tony Yan
    Mon Jul 23 2018
    BEWARE of their dishonest advertisements!! I was "lured in" by their deceitful offer of 0% ARP on new vehicles, only to find out near closing that this rate has a $10,000 cap and that you must purchase the vehicle at full MSRP in order to qualify (there was no disclaimer whatsoever on the ad). What kind of BS is this?!?! They also refuse to discuss prices over the phone and push very hard for people to go speak with them at their office -- a total waste of customers' time and energy. I personally will never go back. If you're looking for an honest Subaru dealer, definitely go somewhere else.
  • Patricia Dolan
    Wed Jul 18 2018
    No Comment
  • M C
    Mon Jul 16 2018
    I came in for a recall and had also requested scheduled maintenance through a plan I purchased when I bought my car. After I got here, they told me they would not honor the service plan I purchased. They said it was expired, (even though it had been honored in the city I moved from after it supposedly expired without any issues and with the recommendation that I follow the mileage markers rather than the dates based on how little we use the car). They said I would have to call the Subaru North America to get anyone to honor it. I eventually sorted it out after hours waiting for customer service, and received a voucher for unused portions of the service plan I purchased. Meanwhile, Subaru Carter recommended hundred and hundreds of dollars of minor service (replacing an interior light bulb and replacing wiper blades, etc) which I will not have done here. And the recall I did have done here took ALL day. I was not offered a loaner or car service, although I understood after the fact that they DO offer that if you ask. They acted as though they were doing me a favor by doing anything on my vehicle. My takeaway is that they take as much as they can while offering as little as possible in return. The quality of service was so much lower than my prior Subaru service provider and the prices are so much higher. I strongly recommend shopping around before coming here.